Crabby Pants/Awesome Pants

October 14, 2011 at 7:58 am (Uncategorized)

I’ve realized that recently I seem to be only posting to my blog to complain about things.  That’s fine, but I don’t know that readers are going to want to keep up with the exploits of a bonafide crabby pants.  So today when I came to my site’s dashboard all set to rant, I decided that if I’m going to complain about things, I also have to talk about things that I like too.  So without further ado, the first (and maybe only) installment of Crabby Pants/Awesome Pants

Crabby Pants 

  • Tax evaders wall of shame I wish I had a Bank of America account solely for the purpose of being able to over-dramatically cancel my account and tell them to stick their $5 ATM fees where the sun doesn’t shine.
  • Whitney Cummings is the worst.  I was excited for her two sitcoms this season because, hey, female representation in prime-time television, but it turns out that not only are her shows terrible, but the majority of her material is firmly rooten in “aren’t women terrible?” comedy.  She’s like that popular girl from high school that you bond with when she’s cast in the all-school musical, but who snubs you when you try to talk to  her in the hallway between classes.
  • Those Dr. Pepper 10 commercials Geez are these commercials awful.  Apparently diet soda is a gendered product, and Dr. Pepper feels it’s necessary to redraw the boundaries so that men can have their own masculine diet soda.  Maybe I just have a bug up my ass and I’m taking a soda commercial too seriously,  but on the day the House passed HR 358 (instead of working on the jobs bill, might I add…), an INCREDIBLY anti-woman measure, yeah, it does make me angry when Dr. Pepper says their new soda isn’t for women.   I didn’t want it anyway. *sticks out tongue*

Awesome Pants

  • Topshop I visited the new Chicago location of this UK clothing retailer and I’m in love.  Sequined shorts. Over-sized bird rings. Peter pan collars. Patterned tights.  I didn’t know it was possible to be this in love with a clothing store.
  • NYU might introduce a hip-hop studies minor.  Maybe this will give the Fighting Violets a little street cred.
  • eos smooth lip balm sphere Lip balm has never been so whimsical before!
1 Comment

  1. Ellen Wohlberg said,

    Excellent post. As someone who also blogs (secretly), I completely understand the feeling of “why am I always writing about negative shit?” I think crabby/awesome is the blog post structure of the future.

Leave a Reply

