Goodbye, Jezebel

September 28, 2011 at 8:07 am (Uncategorized)

I remember the launch of Jezebel.com.  I was a bright-eyed, newly-graduated whippersnapper, glad to have a website for women that didn’t reduce us to man-crazy dieting femme-bots.  Jezebel became a wonderful time waster throughout my string of uninspiring desk jobs, and it kept me abreast of what was going on in politics and pop culture.  I shouted my praise of Jezebel from the mountaintops, visiting the site multiple times a day and frequently forwarding links to friends and co-workers.  But recently…things at Jezebel have gone south.

For a site that claims to be as pro-women as Jezebel, lately it’s been becoming more apparent that they’re only pro- a very specific type of woman.  It’s becoming increasingly acceptable to throw around the weight of one’s own privilege to knock other women, and if you’ve said something to put down someone who doesn’t come from that same place of privilege, you can cover your own ass with a *but I have a Hispanic/black/gay/fat/slutty  friend/uncle/boss/neighbor/mailman* and everything is smoothed over.

They’re not above victim-blaming… After Scarlett Johansson’s naked pictures were leaked one of the writers basically said she should know better than to take those kind of pictures.  Um, shouldn’t the pervert who hacked her know better than to commit such a disgusting invasion of privacy?!?!?

…or making sweeping ignorant racial comments…They’ve made reference to speaking with a “Jewish accent” and they made a comment about Sofia Vergara’s “thick Spanish accent”-she’s Colombian, but what difference does it make, right guys?- and they used a #trailoftears hashtag– remember when we forced Native Americans off their land and thousands died from disease and starvation- to mock Meghan McCain.

…or making ignorant sexist comments about other cultures…Does it even matter that women in Saudi Arabia are allowed to vote?  Um,  I think it does, I really do.

So, dear sweet Jezebel, it’s over between us.  I wish I could still come to you for my one-stop dose of pop culture, politics, fashion, and feminism, but alas, I can’t.  I want smart, I want fun, I want sassy, I want open-minded, and Jezebel just doesn’t cut it anymore.   I’m now on the hunt for new blogs to fill the void, and I’ll fill y’all in on what I find.

3 Comments

  1. Amy Nicole Miller said,

    I think the answer is clear. WE should start a newer, cooler Jezebel! I’ll have my people contact your people.

    • dyan f. said,

      Yes, yes, yes!

  2. broadsofthebeltway said,

    I think that the downfall of Jezebel was correlated with the departure of Sadie Stein, who now works for Paris Review. She was my favorite – she wrote the Dress Code series that ran last year.

    Another thing Jez did that pissed me off was it re-posted Julie Klausner’s insufferable piece about how women dress like little girls and eat cupcakes to try to turn on guys who are less likely to be intimidated. Shut up, J Klausner. And subsequently, shut up, Jezebel.

    Long live The Hairpin!!!

Leave a Reply

