We Hold These Truths to be Self-evident

June 29, 2011 at 8:53 am (Uncategorized)

I’m getting to an age where I’m almost comfortable with the idea of being an adult.  I’ve lived a little, gotten some experience under my belt, and though I’m always learning something new, I’ve got enough know-how to get by on a day-to-day basis.  There are some miscellaneous tidbits of knowledge that I’m not sure quite where I picked them up along the way, but I figured I’d compile and share them here.

  • Never refrigerate tomatoes.  Never.
  • Always carry a tape measure when you go to a thrift store/vintage store/garage sale.
  • Don’t use a metal utensil with a nonstick pan, toaster oven or blender.
  • You can’t keep clinging to the oxford comma.
  • Your ethnic background won’t prevent you from getting sunburned.
  • Buns are an oft-neglected hairstyle.
  • Always keep your resumé updated.
  • Don’t connect to someone on a social network if you’re not comfortable saying “hello” to them in real life.
  • Having fun isn’t hard when you’ve got a library card.
Leave a Reply

