Blog Crush

June 13, 2011 at 4:08 am (Uncategorized)

While I was at NYU I took sketch and improv classes at the Upright Citizens Brigade Theatre.  I was very into “the scene” there and I thought the people who performed at UCB were the bee’s knees.  One of my favorite performers was a woman named Kate Spencer, who I especially adored because she was hilarious, a former Phish fan, and she wrote about pop culture for VH1.  She was essentially the me I longed to be after I graduated.  She had a personal blog that I really enjoyed reading because it was a lovely mix of clever wit and personal experience, but once I moved back to Chicago I didn’t really keep up with it because things that reminded me of New York made me sad for a while.  (Okay, they still do, but we don’t need to talk about that.)

However, one of my old improv teachers made a twitter shout-out to her recently and I found my way back to her blog.  Guess what, it’s still epically awesome.  Kate Spencer is just as terrific as I remembered her being, PLUS she’s got a gorgeous baby that she posts pictures of on the blog.  PLUS she recently hit a guy who manhandled her while she waited for the subway.  She’s kind of (totally) my hero.

So read her blog, is pretty much what I’m saying here.

Leave a Reply

