AvocadOMG

May 31, 2011 at 5:49 pm (Uncategorized)

One of the most challenging aspects of the Whole Foods Plant Strong Challenge is that you’re supposed to avoid using added oils.  As someone whose veins run with Extra Virgin Olive Oil this has been particularly rough, especially since I find that having some fats helps to keep me full longer.  My go-to breakfast used to be a bagel or toast with Earth Balance (If there wasn’t already something called I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter I’d suggest they call Earth Balance that.) but that violates the no added oils rule.  What’s a woman in need of healthy fats to do? Three words for you: avocado on toast.

An avocado for breakfast? That’s crazy talk!  I know, but trust me, this is the best thing to happen to breakfast since the French press.  I know we normally associate avocados with savory lunches or dinners, but start considering the avocado as a breakfast option.  The buttery creaminess of the avocado and the crispness of the toast complement each other nicely, and if you’d like to mix things up you could even add sliced tomato and/or Morningstar veggie bacon.  I’m the type of person who is always hungry, but when I do an avocado on toast for breakfast I find that it’ll keep me sated for five or six hours without even needing a snack.

I know some (evil) people don’t like avocados, so in that case I might suggest adding half an avocado to a green smoothie.  It adds a richness to your smoothie without adding a lot of sweetness (unlike a banana), and it’ll keep you full longer as well.  Avocados for the win!

Leave a Reply

