Whole Foods Plant Strong Challenge, Day 12

May 22, 2011 at 9:59 am (Uncategorized)

I cheated yesterday.  Boy, did I cheat.  A good friend became an ordained priest yesterday and his family hosted a luncheon at a steakhouse.  You know where this is going, don’t you…Even though I haven’t been missing meat or dairy too badly, the filet mignon that I had for lunch yesterday was possibly the best steak I’ve ever had.  No regrets.

Up until yesterday, however, the Plant Strong Challenge had been going well.  Last Thursday I had a consultation with Becky, one of the Whole Foods nutritionists who is helping to run the Challenge.  I feel like I’ve had a pretty good hold on the Challenge so far, but it was nice to get some new ideas and advice from someone who was really knowledgeable.  One of my concerns with the challenge was that I would be missing out on certain nutrients from not eating meat or dairy, but Becky explained that when you eat a diet varied with lots of different plants and grains that you’d still get calcium and protein and other nutrients that you don’t normally associate with plant products.  Becky also had some suggestions on lunch recipes (I’m getting so sick of beans and rice!) that I’m hoping to try this week.

So even though I derailed and had some steak, I’m going to jump right back on board and resume the Plat Strong Challenge.  I was very tempted to just chalk this up to a lost weekend and have cheese pizza for lunch today, but I stayed (plant) strong and went with a tasty vegetable burrito.

Leave a Reply

