You Knew I’d Post Something E-veg-tually…

May 5, 2011 at 11:45 am (Uncategorized)

It occurred to me that while I’ve had the conversation with a lot of friends, I haven’t really followed up on how the 21-Day Vegan Kickstart went.  Well, it was a lot easier than I thought to keep up with, and I didn’t cheat until the last day. (Keep in mind that the last day was Easter…) While the effects of the Kickstart weren’t super obvious, I definitely noticed some positive changes.  I shed a few pounds, my skin was better, I didn’t have cramps during my…ahem…lady times, and I overall felt more energetic.  An added bonus was since I don’t like drinking coffee without milk, I’ve kicked my two-cup-a-day coffee habit!

It was an overwhelmingly positive experience, and since the Kickstart has ended I’ve kept up with a mostly vegan diet…yeah, I’ve been eating the Cadbury Creme Eggs that came in my Easter basket, what’re you going to do about it? *raises fists defensively*  I really felt good about how the Kickstart went, and even though I’m still sorting through the social/political motivations for a vegan diet, I’m content in the knowledge that by mostly abstaining from animal products, I’m not only doing my body a favor, but the environment too. *Dyan takes a second to bask in how smug that sounded*

I plan on continuing to educate myself about food matters (that’s also, coincidentally, the title of a great book by Mark Bittman) and I’ve actually got something pretty exciting in the pipeline that I’ll be writing about next week! (I used exclamation points, which means it really is pretty exciting.) Stay tuned!

2 Comments

  1. Natalie said,

    Hey D!
    Well done on veganhood. I have considered giving it a shot, but it seems that one has to have a lot of cooking prowess to do it well (and let’s be real – I have no interest in spending even more time feeding myself.) Also, it is tough to motivate myself politically or ethically – really, I just want to be thin. [sorry, Earth]

    • dyan f. said,

      Thanks, Nat! You should check out Mark Bittman’s book “How To Cook Everything.” He has the easiest/tastiest version of lots of recipes, and the ones that I’ve tried have been not too time-consuming and pretty tasty, too.

Leave a Reply

