Let’s Start at the Very Vegan-ing

April 6, 2011 at 9:37 am (Uncategorized)

I’m now on the third day of the Vegan Kickstart.  I’ve found that the hardest things to avoid eating aren’t the big ticket items like meats or cheese, but it’s the little things that are most tempting.  We had a morning meeting at work yesterday and I was almost in tears when I had to pass up putting cranberry walnut cream cheese on my bagel.  I’ve also switched to soy creamer/milk in my coffee, which doesn’t really do all that much for me, taste-wise.  I imagine that by the end of the 21-days that these kinds of things won’t seem like as big of a deal, but right now they feel like major sacrifices.

My strategy going into the Kickstart was to just eliminate animal products from my diet and do a lot of veggies, grains, beans, etc., but I don’t think that’s going to be realistic, so I’ve started opening up to vegan substitutions.  One of my roommates is vegan, and she’s introduced me to some products that are actually quite tasty.  I had a fear of fake meat that’s rooted in an unfortunate veggie burger that I tried as a teen, but after sampling a Tofurky roast and some Gardein “chicken” I’m beginning to let go of my apprehensions.  If I’m able to find substitutions that will adequately replace the real thing, then hopefully I won’t have to feel deprived at all during these 21-days.  If push comes to shove, I had a really good vegan chocolate chip cookie from the Chicago Diner, and I’ll just eat those for the next three weeks.

Leave a Reply

