It’s the Freakin’ Vegan, Baby I’m About to Have Me Some Fun

April 4, 2011 at 11:13 am (Uncategorized)

Today I’m embarking on a 21-day experiment in veganism.  Yes, I, Dyan, who has been known to sautee apples in bacon fat, is going to try going for three weeks without consuming any animal products.

I’m doing this 21-Day Vegan Kickstart, partly because I haven’t been completely happy with my dietary habits lately, and partly because I just want the challenge to see if I can do it.  I’ve technically already fallen off the wagon, because the Trader Joe’s potato pancakes that I had for lunch turn out to have egg in them, but according to the email that I got from Alicia Silverstone (Yep, you get celebrity “correspondence” as part of the Kickstart!) she said not to be discouraged if you slip up.

What am I hoping to get out of this?  Well, I have a boat load of qualms about ethical eating that go far beyond just avoiding animal products, but I figure this is a good way to get started down a path of making more conscience food choices.  There are also many claims that eliminating animal products from your diet clears up your skin/gives you more energy/makes you sleep better/etc etc etc, so I suppose I’ll finally see for myself.  I figure it can’t hurt to give this a whirl, so we’ll see how things go…

 

Leave a Reply

