The Time Out Box

February 13, 2011 at 6:05 am (Uncategorized)

My closet has been bursting at the seems as of late, so I dedicated a chunk of time this weekend to taking stock of what I have in my closet and seeing if there was anything I could get rid of. There’s a pretty substantial pile of clothes waiting to be taken to a resale shop, but there’s also another pile of clothes that are sort of in a textile purgatory. In this pile are clothes that I just can’t bear to get rid of right now. There are some snug pieces that I’m optimistically hoping to fit back in to when I join a gym again, there are some adorable vintage dresses that I worry might be a bit too costumey for everyday wear, and there are some clothes that I once adored, but just aren’t sure of anymore. These clothes are going in the Time Out Box, a large Rubbermaid container that will sit out in our storage room. I’ll revisit the Time Out Box again in a couple of months, or else if I just can’t live without one of the items in there before then. I did this before a few months back, and reopened the Time Out Box during this weekend’s closet inventory. There were some items I found I had a new found zest for, and some which I had no doubts about putting in the resale pile. I can get unreasonably sentimental about my clothing, so the Time Out Box is great at working either some “out of sight, out of mind” magic, or the absence makes the heart grow fonder.

Leave a Reply

