You Got the Right Stuff?

January 4, 2011 at 9:41 am (Uncategorized)

Did you see New Kids on the Block and Backstreet Boys (or NKOTBSB as I like to call them) perform on New Year’s Eve?  I missed their performance, but after copious amounts of champagne and queso dip I came home and YouTubed it.  I was obsessed with NKOTB (or at least as obsessed as a four year-old could be with a pop group) and was very interested in seeing them do their thang.  And you know what? They’ve still got the right stuff. *groan* However, seeing them sing and dance to the old hits that made them famous made me kind of sad.

Jordan Knight (my favorite) and the rest of the Kids looked more like Gordon Gekko and the Wall Street dancers than the New Kids on the Block.  And that is fine, because they are now grown men.  After the group broke up, each member has actually had a respectable career post-NKOTB, and since reuniting, the group recorded a new album with the likes of Lady Gaga, Akon, and Timbaland that is actually pretty slammin’- a far cry from their bubble gum pop days.  Yet the Kids have to hang tough (literally) and do the same exact things they were doing as teenagers, without even a tip of the hat to the men that they’ve become since then.

I’m taking this too seriously and being a buzz kill, I know.  I’m sure they were compensated handsomely to do this and the nostalgia factor probably strikes a chord with a lot of folks, but I can’t help thinking about what a bummer it would be if you lived a life of accomplishment and growth, but people were only able to focus on the things you did as a teenager.  It’d be like if I prepared a new monologue for a show, but the producer told me to do my freshman year speech team piece instead.  It was cute then and I look back on those days with a mixture of fondness and embarrassment, but there’s no way in hell that I’d want to revisit them now.  And maybe that’s how the New Kids on the Block feel…or maybe I’m just reading way more into this than I should.

Leave a Reply

