An Inconvenient Truth

March 23, 2010 at 6:44 pm (Uncategorized)

I’m not crazy about people who are self-righteous about food.  The politics of food are extremely delicate, and matters of privilege and accessibility and a whole mess of other factors make it a tough issue to speak about with authority.  Vegan, vegetarian, flexitarian, hard-core carnivore- whatever you are, it’s pretty difficult to tell someone who’s not in your position how they should be eating.  That said, I hope nobody takes offense at what I’m about to say…

NEVER BUY A FROZEN PIZZA AGAIN!

I know, I’m a hypocrite, but for reals, there is no reason for you to succumb to the allure of a frozen pie because making pizza is easy.  I know I’ve been hypnotized by the convenient siren song of a deluxe frozen ‘za in the past, but resist friends, resist.  This weekend I made a pizza in about an hour-and-a-half, one hour which was spent writing while I let my dough rise.  It was fresh, I knew exactly what the ingredients were, and it tasted a hell of a lot better than any frozen pie.

There is a wealth of homemade pizza making knowledge out there, but here are some great online resources:

Things to keep in mind that will enhance your homemade pizza-making:

  • If you use filtered/bottled water for your dough, it will react better with the yeast.  I won’t even pretend to understand the chemistry, but I know the minute I started using water from the Brita pitcher, my pizza dough improved exponentially.
  • Buy a big brick of mozzarella cheese and grate it yourself.  It tastes better, it melts better (there are anti-caking agents in the pre-shredded stuff that make it funky), and you get a bicep workout when you use the box grater.
  • You are the master of your toppings! I have found that most vegetables and sausage usually benefit from being pre-cooked before put on a pizza.

Now go out there and make a pizza! (And save a slice for me!)

I took this photo with my modest camera phone, so it does not do it justice. I assure you that in person, it was breathtaking.

1 Comment

  1. Shavone said,

    I appreciate your food obsession.

Leave a Reply

