You’ve Got the Write Stuff

March 8, 2010 at 8:09 pm (Uncategorized)

Leaving the world of 9-5 has left me with a liberating sense of freedom.  I’ll have set hours when I need to be in the classroom, but aside from that I am in charge of how I want to block out time for lesson-planning, freelance projects, and other assorted tasks.  There are bad habits I’m afraid I’m going to slip into that I didn’t have to worry about with my old job, the ones I’m most worried about being snacking too much and spending too much.

When you spend the majority of your day in your cubicle, there’s not a lot of temptation you need to resist.  Now, however, there’s a fully-stocked kitchen at my disposal, and I’m at liberty to leave my apartment for a jaunt to Walgreens or the grocery store whenever I want.  SO TEMPTING.  I’m not the type of person to bake and devour an entire red velvet cake, nor am I the type to blow max out my credit card on Wet ‘n’ Wild cosmetics, but I’m more apt to allow myself little indulgences.  A few chocolate-covered almonds here, or a fancy shampoo here.  Well, these things can add up.

So to combat that, I’m committing myself to writing down what I eat and spend each day.  That may sound totally anal, but I need a way to hold myself accountable.  If I go crazy and devour a Big Mac, I know right away that I made an unhealthy food choice, but if I just nibble and snack all day, I never really know the damage I’m doing.  I don’t envision myself tracking these things long-term, but until I settle into a routine I want to make sure that I don’t fall into any traps.

Leave a Reply

