It’s the Final Countdown

March 5, 2010 at 7:31 pm (Uncategorized)

I’m done!!!!!!!!!

Today was my last day of work, and up until 4:30 pm I was still questioning whether or not this was a ridiculous move to make. I was giving up great co-workers, pre-tax 401k dollars, all sorts of insurance (health! life! dental! vision!), and stability…was I crazy?  I walked away from the building with a nagging sense of doubt (and an enormous bouquet of flowers) and distracted myself with a minty moore concrete (Scooters frozen custard, mint, oreos, hot fudge).  Then I further distracted myself with potato sage bread and comte (a lovely cheese).

Then tonight I had the privilege of acting in a reading of a play with American Theater Company’s “Chicago Chronicle” project. (This is the same company that does the “Mosaic” program I’ll be doing.) I’ll just take the explanation straight from the website:

The Chicago Chronicle is a project that creates theater experiences that come from the lives of people living in the community. ATC selects eight Chicago playwrights to pair up with eight teen leaders to interview families about a relevant issue. Each teen leader interviews a family and then works with the playwright to use an element of the family’s story as the basis for a short play. The plays are read together by professional artists in an evening of theater on ATC’s stage to which the teens, interviewed families and other members of the community are invited.

Being even a small part of this experience was amazing.  To see how much a piece of theatre was able to affect a community and to see how excited the kids involved were made my heart happy.  I’ll be the first to admit that theater can be trite and fluffy, but when it’s done right it can be empowering, especially when the story that you’re telling is your own, as it was with the community involved tonight.  The sense of ownership that everybody in the room shared was incredible.  During the talkback tonight, any doubts I had about the decision I made went out the window.

Let’s do this!

Leave a Reply

