See Ya Later, Bob Costas

February 28, 2010 at 8:09 pm (Uncategorized)

My Twitter and Facebook friends will rejoice now that the Olympics are over, since it means that I’ll no longer post about crying, watching figure skating, or crying while watching figure skating.  A huge chunk of the past two weeks has been spent sitting in front of the TV watching people perform feats of athleticism on ice and snow, but it has served an important purpose.

I don’t know about you, but I really needed the Olympics to come along when they did.  I think anyone that knows me can vouch that I’ve been harboring a serious “bad-itude” for at least the past six months.  There were a few factors contributing to it, and I had a little trouble shaking it off.

Now I’m not saying the Olympics snapped me out of this angsty hiccup, because I recognized a while ago that I had to take steps to turn things around.  However, I had sunk into a pattern of skepticism and negativity that was proving hard to break: cue Vancouver 2010.

Two straight weeks of watching incredibly disciplined, dedicated individuals trying to achieve their dreams is good for the soul, yo.  And finding yourself rooting for something, instead of being indifferent to it or against it, sets off a positivity chain reaction.  (In the interest of full disclosure, I have to admit that I did root against Yevgeny Plushenko. He’s a real cootie.) Not to mention all of those stories of athletes overcoming obstacles (and there were some REAL doozies at these games) really put things in perspective when you’re frustrated.

So XXI Olympic Winter Games, thanks for everything.  For helping to stop me from being such a sourpuss and for providing with me tons of Olympic eye candy. (Charlie White, call me.  I will totally ice dance the Tango Romantica with you.) I can take it from here now.

Leave a Reply

