Yes We Can

February 27, 2010 at 7:05 pm (Uncategorized)

I saw “Valentine’s Day” today.  I can confidently say that it was among the three worst movies I’ve ever seen.  It offended me as a writer, as a woman, as a Latino, and as a human being.  I have never seen such a trite piece of garbage, but there’s a lesson that we can all learn from this.

People are doing work that is complete bunk and getting paid for it!  You may want to self-censor your work because you don’t think it’s good enough, but you’re not giving yourself enough credit.  You’re your own toughest critic, but obviously, there are far more forgiving souls out there.  That’s not to say that you shouldn’t hold your work to certain standards, but don’t let yourself get in your own way.

Also, if you write a script that has Bradley Cooper and Eric Dane as love interests, they should probably kiss or take their shirts off, at the very least.  Then your script would be slightly less horrid.

1 Comment

  1. Mallory said,

    Dyan, I was just reading up on your blog and I’m totally enjoying all of the posts…however this one made me feel the need to comment that I AGREE WITH YOU! As a person who has embarrassingly low standards for romantic comedies, it’s truly sad that I couldn’t find a thing to like about this movie. I actually thought that Leap Year was better than this abomination. At least that had Amy Adams’ charm. Valentine’s Day didn’t have a single redeeming quality other than getting to drool at Bradley Cooper’s adorable vested suit. Ok, that is my rant on Valentine’s Day. Good luck with everything and Go Sox.

Leave a Reply

