Someone’s in the Kitchen with Dyan

February 17, 2010 at 6:29 pm (Uncategorized)

I love food.  You’re particularly aware of this if you work with me, and you are on the receiving end of my emails of pictures of things wrapped in bacon and cookie-cake-pies.  I’ve been fortunate to be in a position where I could comfortably spend on groceries and dining out occasionally without micromanaging my budget, but I’m going to have to tighten up my purse strings.  However, I don’t want my shift in lifestyle to completely take the enjoyment out of food.  That’s why I’m taking precautionary measures.

Tonight I spent a chunk of time portioning and freezer-proofing a load of chicken breasts and steak that I bought on sale. (Sorry, vegans.) Tomorrow, I have plans during my lunch hour to take advantage of a sale on $.75 Rice-a-Roni (ding ding!) and $.50 Campbells soup at Dominicks.  This is in addition to the surplus of frozen veggies and pasta I already have stockpiled at home.  The idea is that I should be able to produce a healthy, inexpensive meal at any time, and never feel dictated by my financial situation to eat ramen or PBJ. Deprivation of good food leads to a major case of the crazypants, which leads to nutritional/financial bingeing, and I’d like to avoid that.

The positive side of this is that I find great joy in cooking.  Last night I baked a yellow cake with homemade buttercream frosting for an office potluck and I had a ball.  (Confession: I “sampled” so much frosting that I could only frost the top layer of my cake.)  There’s something very Zen about the process of cooking (Which would explain why my Twitter BFF Rick Bayless always seems so calm.), and the sense of satisfaction I get from eating something I prepared  is nice, too.

A resource that I can’t recommend enough for advice about cheap, healthy eating is Cheap, Healthy, Good.  The writers are all very witty and lovely, and I find the commenters to be really helpful, and willing to engage in an intelligent dialogue about eating well on not much $.

Leave a Reply

