FDR Knew What He Was Talking About

February 14, 2010 at 3:03 am (Uncategorized)

Having a steady job in the healthcare industry was a great excuse not to be doing theatre. “I spent all day catering to the whims of high maintenance physicians, it’s okay if I’m too tired to work on my play tonight,” was all the justification I needed to spend an evening on the couch with my “Veronica Mars” DVDs.  Lazy lazy lazy.  But there was something exhausting about spending your day doing something that you just weren’t jazzed about doing.

Well now I no longer have that excuse, which scares the dickens out of me.  I’m not really a teaching artist if I’m not actually, well, an artist, so I’m committed to doing this right.  I’m probably going to write some pretty crappy plays and musicals.  If I write enough of those, I’ll hopefully write a few decent ones too.

Leave a Reply

